How To Block People From Seeing Your LinkedIn Profile


09.05.2011

How To Block People From Seeing Your LinkedIn Profile

This one is very easy and it involves LinkedIn (yes there are other social networks except Facebook and Twitter). For those who don’t know LinkedIn is a powerful online networking tool that targets professionals. It involves different lines of work and it’s a easy to use and see the perspective on ones job abilities.

This being said you probably figured out that LinkedIn does not allow users to block connections. But there are some ways in which you can reduce the quantity in which your profile is exposed.  There are some security settings that will protect your privacy and even prevent undesired users to see your complete profile. These users will have to limit only at the basics of your profile.

Here are the steps to make the correct privacy settings:

  1. Log in your LinkedIn profile using the correct user name and password. Now simply move your mouse over the user name that is located in the upper right corner on your LinkedIn page. Notice this will appear only when you are log in.

  2. Now click on the “Settings” option. This can be found in the drop down menu. From there click on the “Profile” tab.

  3. Press the “Broadcasts” button that is located under “Privacy Controls,”.  From there uncheck the box next to the option labeled “Let people know when you change your profile, make recommendations, or follow companies.”. Now click on the “Save Changes” option.

  4. This is the step where you will need to click “Select who can see your activity feed.”. Notice there is a box displayed that needs to be checked. Also click on the “Only you” option from the drop-down menu. By doing so you will make one of the most secure things in the social network. Now save the changes by pressing “Save Changes”.

  5. Now press the “Select who can see your connections.”. A box should appear at this point.  Click on it and then click “Only you.” Click “Save Changes.”

  6. Click on the “Change your profile photo & visibility.” Now click “My Connections” under the option “In addition to users I message, my profile photo is visible to…” Click “Save Changes.”

And that’s about all. Your LinkedIn profile is secure and only the desired visitors will see all the details.

Tags: click, profile, linkedin, there, option, users, privacy, only, save, changes, make, located, user, correct, settings, connections, name, some, photo, appear, social, involves, easy, press, people, under, notice, block, know, secure